[Blog Tour] Nightmare’s Eve by Stephen H. Provost

Nightmare’s Eve
Stephen H. Provost
Publication date: February 22nd 2018
Genres: Horror, Young Adult

A collection of 16 short stories and 10 dark poems in the tradition of “The Twilight Zone.”

Trapped for eight centuries in a space no larger than a shoebox. What would you do to escape? How far would you go to rid yourself of that parasite in your brain that feeds off the worst of your nightmares? What if the person closest to you were fated to die – and you were powerless to stop it?

What if your savior were also your greatest fear? Would you trade years of your life for a chance at redemption? Would you slay or spare the dragon whose eyes gaze up at you pleadingly in the final moments of its life?

These are the questions that run through the mind when twilight fades and eyelids grow heavy. Fight the onset of sleep. Thrash beneath the covers in futile defiance of what lies beyond. This is the between-time of Nightmare’s Eve, those brief but lingering moments between the waking world and the abyss. It will have you. It’s only a matter of time.

Goodreads / Amazon / Barnes & Noble

 


The Review:

As an avid reader of Neil Gaiman, Stephen King and Edgar Allen Poe, I appreciated Nightmare’s Eve.

The book is structured in such a way that it reads easily for those wanting to get their feet wet in the worlds of horror the author weaves together.

I specifically appreciated the mix of short stories as it gave enough of a plot to instill a sense of spine-tingling thrill but allowed me to move on to something written completely different. I especially loved the poem written about a corpse as though he were watching his own decay. The imagery here alone was beyond amazing.

My criticism would be I wanted to feel more terror. More suspense. I felt the spine-tingling in some of the prose but in others it didn’t quite reach the expectations I was looking for. There was almost a lack of inconsistency.

However! I did enjoy this book and loved the change of pace from recent reads. Really well written book, very imaginative and worth picking up.

Fans of Twilight Zone, Stephen King, Edgar Allen Poe or dark poetry and short stories will love this book.

My rating: 3.5 out of 5 stars

 


 

Author Bio:

Stephen H. Provost is a veteran editor, reporter and columnists with more than 30 years of experience at daily newspapers in California. He’s currently the managing editor of The Cambrian on the Central Coast, as well as a columnist and assistant city editor for The Tribune in San Luis Obispo.

As an author, he has written historical nonfiction (“Fresno Growing Up” and “Highway 99: The History of California’s Main Street”), novels (“Memortality” and “Identity Break”), while also exploring the realms of mythology, fable and ancient history.

Website / Goodreads / Facebook / Twitter

 

GIVEAWAY!

a Rafflecopter giveaway

XBTBanner1

 

Advertisements

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

w

Connecting to %s